Transportation Committee


Transportation Committee

Summary: Eleven members, one ex-officio, appointed from the SACOG Board and the Caltrans District 3 Director to review all items relating to transportation issues as well as the SAFE program. (Meets monthly or as needed.)

SACOG’s Transportation Committee recommends action by the Board of Directors on the following topics:

  • Metropolitan Transportation Improvement Program (MTIP)
  • Project Delivery Plan
  • Federal Surface Transportation (SAFETEA-LU)
  • Federal and State Transportation Funding
  • Regional Funding Programs
  • Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS)
  • 511
  • Transportation Demand Management
  • Capitol Valley Regional Service Authority for Freeways and Expressways (CVR-SAFE)

Advisory Committees

The Board has established a number of advisory committees as a means of obtaining advice from citizens, key interest groups in the community, and partner planning agencies on a variety of subjects.

SACOG seeks advice from local agencies on transportation and land use plan content and investment decisions. SACOG works not only with the agency staff, but with governing boards, technical committees, and advisory committees. These advisory committees typically include representatives of citizens’ advocacy groups, the private sector, major colleges and universities, transportation management professionals, and private citizens unaffiliated with any of the above groups. Committees are augmented, restructured, added to, or discharged from time to time based upon the issues and concerns faced by the Board. Currently, the advisory committees that report to the Transportation Committee are:

  • Bikeway and Pedestrian Committee
  • Goods Movement Advisory Group
  • Sacramento Emergency Clean Air and Transportation (SECAT) Air Quality Policy Group
  • Sacramento Emergency Clean Air and Transportation (SECAT) Technical Advisory Committee
  • Transit Coordinating Committee
  • Regional Planning Partnership

2023 Committee Members

Chair Jill Gayaldo (Rocklin)
Vice Chair Darren Suen (Elk Grove)
Chris Branscum (Marysville)

Josh Chapman (Davis)

Lakhvir Ghag (Live Oak)
Martha Guerrero (West Sacramento)
Rick Jennings II (Sacramento City)
Paul Joiner (Lincoln)

Jesse Loren (Winters)

David Sander (Rancho Cordova)
Amarjeet Benipal (Caltrans Non-voting)