SACOG is where local government leaders in the Sacramento region come together to advance the goals of economic prosperity, connected communities, and vibrant places. SACOG works with its 28 member cities and counties to solve challenges that are too big for any one jurisdiction to solve on its own. A staff of 60 is guided by a board of elected officials from each city and county. SACOG plays a central role in transportation infrastructure planning and funding assistance for cities, counties, transit operators, and other entities responsible for providing for the travel needs of the region’s residents. 

As the only public agency with members from every jurisdiction in the region, SACOG also serves as a forum for the study, planning, and resolution of other issues facing local governments in a wide variety of topics from protecting our agricultural and natural resources, to challenges related to flooding and wildfires, airport planning, and housing affordability. We also help our member agencies and partners find efficiencies by sharing resources for such things as joint procurements of fuel to keep vehicle fleets running, purchasing software that helps transit operators efficiently manage bus and light rail service, and operating an aerial imagery cooperative. 

SACOG is designated by the federal government as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Sacramento region, which requires SACOG to maintain a regional transportation plan that must be updated every four years in coordination with each local government. Placer and El Dorado counties are unique in this arrangement in that they each have their own state designation as Regional Transportation Planning Agencies (RTPAs) that are responsible for developing their own transportation plans. SACOG is the RTPA for Sacramento, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba counties. SACOG works in coordination with the Placer County Transportation Planning Agency and the El Dorado County Transportation Commission to ensure consistency between these two county-specific plans and the broader region-wide plan.

1415 L Street, Suite 300
Sacramento, CA 95814

2022 Highlights

This year’s round of accomplishments proves that, together, we can achieve a lot. These annual highlights do not belong just to SACOG; they tell a story of cities, counties, and partners working in tandem to build a bright and vibrant region. Critical issues face our region, and with the collaboration of the 28 city and county members, we set our sights on tackling these challenges and advancing new solutions.

2022 Annual Highlights


Strategic Plan

With input from the Board of Directors, stakeholders, and staff, SACOG developed a new Strategic Plan and Mission. The Strategic Plan sharpens the agency’s goals and objectives and presents a simple and clear articulation of SACOG’s purpose, priorities, and approach.


A vibrant and thriving Sacramento region for all.


SACOG convenes and connects the region to advance an equitable, sustainable, and prosperous future.